哈里斯堡联邦法院

1629 Hero Shot 1 Exterior View

哈里斯堡联邦法院

设计灵感源源自哈利斯堡文化历史、地区规划以及中城城市肌理,旨在通过建筑语汇将这座新建美国联邦法院以北部门户和现代文化地标形象呈现在公众面前,体现了联邦司法部门与其服务社区间的紧密联系。

1629 Hero Shot 1 Exterior View

坐落于萨斯奎哈纳河和帕克斯顿溪间的地理棱线上,第六大道与瑞利街交界处,新的法院设计扎根于哈利斯堡中城历史与社区文化。建筑及周边景观将共同塑造这个公民文化标识及公共空间,在作为进一步振兴该地区催化剂的同时,促进国会大厦与哈利斯堡其他地区的视觉和切实联系。

建筑体量作为主体功能元素的清晰标绘图,同时也是强调整个大哈利斯堡地区景观、社区和公民活动中法院作用的重要标识。建筑裙楼元素的语汇节奏及水平流线巧妙地隐喻了跨越萨斯奎哈纳的诸多桥梁。

1629 New New Concept Image 2 1
1629 New New Concept Image Cropped2

从国会大厦向北延伸,位于第六大道的曲面几何体量将法院与城市在规划尺度精妙连接,这种连接性主要表现在建筑主入口与主体公共空间的有序延展结合。

1629 New New Ea Site Plan
1629 Physical Model Photo 3

建筑主入口位于第六大道,沿途为主要公共空间设施,公共大厅、咖啡厅、陪审员大厅、共享会议空间和区域职员公共柜台。建筑群楼内其他功能设施包括美国律师办公室、大陪审团大厅、破产专项办公室、区域办公室、信托办公室及会议室、美国法警空间和一般事物管理办公室。电梯间将公共大厅空间与各层面有序连接,其中包括塔楼内的庭审会议室和陪审团大厅。

Hero Shot 2 Main Lobby Final Rev2

八间法庭坐落于大楼中心位置的4-8层,与北区五个较大地区法庭和两个较小法庭,以及南边的破产法庭。塔楼中的架高审判室和其规划位置恰当好处地彰显了其重要地位并得以让整个空间得到充分日照,上述结构也使得公共等候区、陪审团审议室、律师更衣室都可一览极富戏剧性的区域景色。

塔楼的独有外观和几何式立面回应了太阳能方案、功能以及景观。根据设计初衷有的放矢的清晰流线与主体为预制混凝土和玻璃组成的内敛建材,通过丰富的装饰性纹理,生动诠释了这座历史性建筑的现代感、尊严性和文化沉淀。

1629 New Facade
Level 5 Sustainability Diagram
Elevations

详情

年份
2022
项目地点
宾夕法尼亚州哈利斯堡
项目规模
243,000 GSF
功能
8个审判室、分庭、法庭服务、陪审团大厅、咖啡厅、大陪审团大厅、缓刑和预审服务、联邦公设辩护人办公室、巡回法院图书馆、美国法警服务处、联邦律师办公室、联邦信托办公室和会议室、综合服务管理

团队

Ennead 团队
Susan T. Rodriguez, Timothy Hartung, Brian Masuda, Melissa Sarko, Stefan Abel, Hsin Yi Wu, Julia Chapman, Gary Anderson, Chihwei Hsu, Jörg Kiesow, Stefan Knust, Patrick O'Neill, Mat Strack, Trevor Taub, Suzanne Troiano
Courts Planning Consultant
Ricci Greene Associates
Landscape Architecture Consultant
Balmori Associates

Harrisburg Federal Courthouse

1629 Hero Shot 1 Exterior View

Harrisburg Federal Courthouse

Inspired by Harrisburg’s civic history, regional landscape, and evolving Midtown urban fabric, the building design aims to establish the new United States Federal Courthouse as a northern gateway and contemporary civic landmark that embodies the vital intersection between the Federal judiciary and the community it serves.

1629 Hero Shot 1 Exterior View

Located on the geographic ridgeline between the Susquehanna River and Paxton Creek at the corner of Sixth and Reily Streets, the new courthouse aims to build upon Midtown Harrisburg’s history and sense of community.  The building and its surrounding landscape will be a civic icon and public space that serves as a catalyst for further revitalization of the area while promoting stronger visual and physical links to the Capitol Complex and the rest of Harrisburg.  

The building massing, a legible intersection of primary program elements, is a framework for understanding the role of the Federal Judiciary in the greater Harrisburg regional landscape and its role within the surrounding community and local civic realm.The rhythm and horizontality of the building’s podium elements subtly reference the numerous bridge structures which span the Susquehanna.  

1629 New New Concept Image 2 1
1629 New New Concept Image Cropped2

The curvilinear geometry of Sixth Street, extending north from the Capitol Complex, links the courthouse to the City at an urban planning scale by symbolically extending into the building to define the primary public arrival sequence.

1629 New New Ea Site Plan
1629 Physical Model Photo 3

The Main Entry Level, accessed from 6th street, houses the majority of the public spaces within the building which include the Public Lobby, Café and Jury Assembly, Shared Meeting Spaces and District Clerk Public Counter.  Other program spaces located in the building podium are U.S. Attorney’s Offices, Grand Jury, Bankruptcy Clerk Offices, District Clerk Offices, Trustees Offices and Meeting Room, U.S. Marshals Space, and General Service Administration Offices. The elevator bank connects the public lobby space at all levels including the Courtroom and Judges’ Chambers floors in the tower above. 

Hero Shot 2 Main Lobby Final Rev1 Use

The 8 Courtrooms are located in the heart of the tower footprint on Levels 4 to 8 and stack consistently with the five larger District Courtrooms to the North and the two smaller Magistrate Courtrooms and Bankruptcy Courtroom to the south.  The elevated location of the Courtrooms in the tower and the location in plan appropriately reflects their significance and allows the spaces to benefit from controlled natural daylight and also allows the public waiting areas, the jury deliberation rooms, and robing rooms to take advantage of the dramatic distant views.  The Circuit Library located on Level 7 of the tower aspires to be a shared resource for all building tenants. 

The distinct shape of the tower and façade geometries respond to solar orientation, program, and views.  This purposeful articulation, coupled with a restrained material palette comprised primarily of precast concrete and glass, results in a modern interpretation that transcends the decorative textural richness and dignified character associated with historic civic buildings. 


1629 New Facade
Level 5 Sustainability Diagram
Elevations

Details

Year
2022
Location
Harrisburg, PA
Size
243,000 GSF
Program
8 Courtrooms, Judicial Chambers, Court Support, Jury Assembly, Café, Grand Jury Suite, Probation and Pre-Trial Services, Federal Public Defender Office, Circuit Court Library, U.S. Marshal Service, U.S. Attorney’s Office, U.S. Trustee Office and Meeting Room, General Services Administration
LEED Gold (Pursuing)
SITES Silver (Pursuing)

Team

Design Partner
Susan T. Rodriguez
Management Partner
Timothy Hartung
Project Designer
Brian Masuda
Project Manager
Melissa Sarko
Project Architect
Stefan Abel
Project Architect, Façade
Hsin-Yi Wu
Job Captain
Julia Chapman
Project Team
Gary Anderson, Chihwei Hsu, Jörg Kiesow, Stefan Knust, Patrick O'Neill, Mat Strack, Trevor Hollyn Taub, Suzanne Troiano

Consultants

Courts Planning
Ricci Greene Associates
Landscape Architecture
Balmori Associates