斯坦福大学化学、工程&人类健康医学以及神经学大楼

Chem H Scout 0006

斯坦福大学化学、工程&人类健康医学以及神经学大楼

这座汇集了生物化学和神经学创新研究的教学大楼成功汇集了一系列跨学科的交流互动,其中包括统计科学、化学、遗传学、心理学、生物工程和社会科学。新的跨学科研究综合体旨在成为校园研究生活的磁石,同时也是北端医学院和南端工程科学院方庭的门户所在。

Chem H Scout 0006
1406 Axo Sketch

设计极富创意地合并了两座研究机构——斯坦福神经科学机构及斯坦福化学、医药工程和人类健康机构。建筑无疑将为世界领先的、不断成长的科学先驱者们提供得以解决神经学、化学、工程和医药上各项复杂问题的绝佳研究工作场所。

Ch Em H 0108 L2

建筑体量和极具活力的底层平面设计通过在校园中的关键位置,创造了一个连接医学院和工程学院方庭的重要路径。上述定位使得建筑最终为这些相互交融的心理、大脑和行为、生物工程及复杂生命化学学科开创了发现促进人类健康和根除疾病的新道路。

Ch Em H 0338 L1
Ennead Ch Em H 001 Anderson
N A1 6

设计创造了一个可供迎宾、交流欣赏和互动所用的公共空间。开放式设计有助于扩张传统会议和社交空间,打破空间壁垒,将互动地点从室内延续到室外。建筑底层的多孔设计将建筑与周边校园环境紧密结合。建筑中央中庭的花园庭院和位于活动角的酒吧更赋予了整体设计与众不同的形象与活力。

建筑的核心地理位置使其理所当然地成为了午餐聚会、下午茶和晚餐集会的最佳地点,为长时间在实验室工作的研究人员提供了一个非正式的休憩社交场所。位于场地最活跃一角的酒吧使本项目和周边的城市肌理更紧密结合,同时也提供了一个休闲娱乐的绝佳场所。

Chem H 1092
Ch Em H 0942
Chem H Scout 0187

为促进跨学科交流协作,不同种类的会议空间和部分研究用核心设施将作为共用功能呈现,且设置在便于楼内工作人员和访客使用的易达位置。与传统的实验室规划不同,宽敞明亮的“客厅”空间围绕中央景观庭院设立,并供各实验室“邻里间”共享。这些“客厅”提供了休息空间、厨房和共享会议室等功能以便更积极地促进不同机构的不同实验室科学家与访客和其他院系间的交流互动。

两大机构的研究实验室在设计上均保持了极大的灵活性、配置可变性和互动集成性,鼓励并促进各类学科间的创造性交流。开放的“客厅”空间由一个公共“跑道”式环形区域连接,将建筑极为巧妙地渗透进研究“社区”,极大地鼓励了协作与讨论。为达到人员国籍与专业强度的精妙平衡,建筑将容纳约40位主任研究员。

1406 Stanford Theory Diagram Combined 01
Chem H Scout 0106

这座三层的神经科学机构(SNI)理论/计算机实验室位于大型客厅中央,紧凑的垂直核心形成了极为艺术性的“建筑内建筑”。共享会议室与带厨房集会空间进一步加强了整体建筑的垂直流线、可见度并促进理论学家、计算机科学家与实验家研究人员之间的互动协作。共享空间面向更大的社区客厅开放,以供大型活动的举行,如每周五的传统下午茶时间。

除上述共享设施外,大型多功能会议室也是各类重要活动与访问学者讲座的举办地。

2016 07 29 L2 Corner Stair
2016 03 01 Overall Building Perspective Plan

详情

年份
2020
项目地点
加利福尼亚州斯坦福
项目规模
231,883 GSF
功能
湿、干及计算机/理论研究实验室、实验室核心功能、与现有设施地下连接的动物研究设施、大型多功能会议空间、会议互动空间、“客厅”公共空间、行政办公空间、PI办公室、休息室和酒吧

团队

Ennead 团队
Richard Olcott, Timothy Hartung, Stephen PD Chu, Steven Peppas, Craig McIlhenny, Bernardo Almonte, Gary Anderson, Billy Erhard, Corinna Ganssloser, Kyo-Young Jin, Jazzy Li 李樾祺, Marcel Merwin, David Monnar, Paul Scrugham, Fernando Suarez, Na Sun, Mark Talbot, Minh Tran, Melanie Weismiller, Desiree Wong, Dunia Wong
Laboratory Consultant
GL Planning & Design, Inc.

Stanford ChEM-H and SNI Building (Chemistry, Engineering & Medicine for Human Health and the Neuroscience Institute)

2017 10 16 Courtyard View

Stanford ChEM-H and SNI Building (Chemistry, Engineering & Medicine for Human Health and the Neuroscience Institute)

Groundbreaking research in biochemistry and neuroscience converge in a single building in order to draw together a wide range of disciplines, including quantitative sciences, chemistry, molecular biology, genetics, psychology, bioengineering and the social sciences. The new interdisciplinary research complex is designed to serve as both a magnet for campus research and life, and as a gateway between the School of Medicine to the north and the Science and Engineering quad to the south.

2017 10 16 Courtyard View
1406 Axo Sketch

Designed to innovatively co-locate two emerging research institutes – Stanford Neurosciences Institute and Stanford Chemistry, Engineering Medicine and Human Health (ChEM-H), the building will house leading and rising scientific minds investigating fundamental problems in neuroscience, chemistry, engineering, and medicine.

2016 08 01 Mpr Serra Mall Axis

The building’s massing and activated ground floor plan take advantage of its pivotal location on campus by creating pathways that connect to the School of Medicine and the Science and Engineering Quad. As a result, the building becomes a crossroads to these increasingly convergent disciplines of mind, brain and behavior, bioengineering and the complex chemistry of life – opening the way to discoveries that will improve human health and eradicate disease.  

1406 Stanford Chem Hsni 1

The design creates outdoor spaces that are inviting, inspiring and interactive. These spaces are accessible and appealing for extending conference and social functions beyond the walls of the building. The ground floor is conceived as porous and open to the surrounding campus. 

The building’s central location allows the new building to be a meeting place for lunch, coffee and evening drinks, providing researchers who have spent long hours in the lab a hangout spot to relax and interact in a less formal setting.  A pub at the most active corner of the site anchors the building to its context and provides an area of respite and informality.


2017 07 12 L3 Sni Living Room

Designed to promote interdisciplinary collaboration, various meeting spaces and select research core facilities are shared and strategically located to be accessible and visible to both building occupants and visitors. A departure from conventional lab planning, the generous light filled “living room” spaces are created around the central landscaped courtyard and shared by lab "neighborhoods". These "living rooms" provide break out spaces, kitchenettes and shared meeting rooms to further promote collaboration between scientists in neighborhood labs of either institute as well as between visitors from other departments.  

Research labs for both institutes are designed to be flexible, reconfigurable and integrated, allowing multiple disciplinary approaches to promote creative interactions. Open living room spaces linked by a common "race track" circulation zone organize the building into distinct research "neighborhoods”, and encourage collaboration and discussion. To achieve the desired balance of diversity and strength in faculty, the building will house approximately 40 Principal Investigators.

1406 Stanford Theory Diagram Combined 01
2017 07 12 L2 Ch Em H Living Room

The three story Neuroscience Institute’s (SNI) theory/computational lab located inside a large living room is conceived as a compact vertical core “building within the building”. By providing a common conference room and a gathering space with a kitchenette, the building is designed to promote vertical circulation, visibility and collaborations among theorists, computationalists and experimentalists. This common space can open up to the larger neighborhood living room at times to host discussions or events, such as their traditional Friday Tea Time.

In addition to these shared facilities, large multipurpose rooms are designed to host important events or visiting lecturers.

2016 07 29 L2 Corner Stair
2016 03 01 Overall Building Perspective Plan

Details

Year
2018
Location
Stanford, CA
Size
231,883 GSF
Program
Wet, dry and computational/theory research laboratories, Laboratory core programs, Animal Research Facility with below grade connections to existing facilities, Large Multi-Purpose Meeting Space, Meeting Interaction Spaces, "Living Room" Common Space, Administrative Spaces, PI Offices, Break Room Spaces and a Pub

Team

Design Partner
Richard Olcott
Management Partner
Timothy Hartung
Project Designer
Stephen P-D Chu
Project Manager
Steven Peppas
Project Architect
Craig McIlhenny
Design Team
Bernardo Almonte, Gary Anderson, Billy Erhard, Corinna Ganssloser, Kyo-Young Jin, Jazzy Li, Marcel Merwin, David Monnar, Paul Scrugham, Na Sun, Mark Talbot, Minh Tran, Melanie Weismiller, Desiree Wong, Dunia Wong

Consultants

Structural
Degenkolb Engineers
Structural Peer Reviewer
Forell/Elsesser Engineers, Inc.
Laboratory
GL Planning & Design, Inc.
Landscape
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol
MEP
Gayner Engineers
Civil
MacKay and Somps
Geotechnical
Cornerstone Earth Group
Lighting
Brandston Partnership, Inc.
Graphics
Kate Keating Associates, Inc.
Acoustics
Robert F. Mahoney & Associates
Audiovisual
Audio Visual Design Group
Specifications
Conspectus
Code / Life Safety
3Sides
Sustainable Design
Atelier Ten
Food Service
RAS Design Group
Elevator
Lerch Bates
Hardware
Glezen Fisher Group LLC
Curtainwall
Heintges & Associates
Wind Tunnel Testing
Ambient Air Technologies, LLC
Vibration
Wilson, Ihrig & Associates
Shielding Consulting
Vitatech Engineer Consultants
Construction Manager
Whiting-Turner Contracting Company